Email_Logo_90x8054

Banner_Artist_Gentle_Touch

 

 

 

From “AKUSTIK GITARRE” No. 6 / 2003

 

“A true Master of her trade”

 

   ATELIER TRAUDT - CONCERT GUITAR “ARTIST GENTLE TOUCH” gentle102

 

 by Franz Holtmann

 

The name Cornelia Traudt stands for masterful guitar building. She has chosen the Alsacian countryside as her adopted place of residence, and has already found acclaim in these pages. Her concert guitar, "Artist Gentle Touch" once more demonstrates her resourcefullness in creating an instrument with a guitarbuilder's imagination and attention to detail.

Naturallly, the standards of traditional concert-guitar buidling principles are the main concern of Cornelia Traudt .Her forte however, proves that on the traditional and profound basis, there is still room for interesting details. It clearly shows the flexibility of the guitar-builder, who takes the Client's particular wishes into consideration to the greatest possible extend.

Her address Petersbach does not only sound German, it is indeed very close to the German border, situated in the beautiful countryside of the Northern Vosges range, which by itself makes your visit to her atelier worthwhile.

 

Construction

The basic form of the aside from the interesting changes favoring better handling, meets all criteria applicable to the traditionally known art of concert guitar building.

The body of the "Artist Gentle Touch is built with attractively grained massive rosewood. The two- part slightly curved fond is joined over a three-striped joint, covering the two mirror imaged halves, and is repeated in the edge inlay for the rosewood binding.

For the sound table, the builder favored fine alpine spruce with a slight hazel grain. Here, the innovation with regards to easy playing, which inspired the instrument's title, are clearly visible. The sides of the sound table are slightly carved in the lower front side, softly surrounding the cutaway. Initially, the visible contrast of light spruce with the dark palisandre appears like a traditional cutaway, but turns out to be a cut-out set in a shallow moulde which renders nearly the entire volume to the body, avoiding the stiffness of the instrument body, normally found in a traditional cutaway. This technique allows a much improved reach of higher notes, while leaving the guitar's full range of sonorous qualities. Diagonally accross, where the player's right arm rests, the sharp edge of the side was modified by an integrated ergonomic arm rest. The sinews and muscles of the player's arm are relieved and permit playing the instrument without tiring.

These two ingenious details were masterfully solved both technically and from a guitar builder's point of view. The neck is made of cedar wood, both sides of the head consist of rosewood. What other than deeply black ebony would be suited to build the fret board, which was extended over the sound hole to allow reach of a 20th fret. The latter bearing a charming inlay in the shape of dark wooden rosette as decoration. The masterfully clean and polished fret work reflect the high standard expected in such an instrument, however, the small helpful dots at frets 5 and 7 clearly exceed the latter.

Another player-friendly detail: The bridge of this guitar is made of rosewood and features exquisite mother- of -pearl and other inlays. The nut and the bridge-saddle are made of true mammoth bone. The beholder's eye is drawn to the sound hole and shows clearly structured catacombes with finely crafted transverse bars inside..The superb special shellack base hand polish is praiseworthy .The instrument is delivered in a high quality Hiscox "Pro" hard-shell case.

Sound and Playing characteristics

When the first couple of chords are struck, a finely tuned ear discerns the high quality of character Mme Traudt expects her instruments to be classified as. With ist wonderful balance, the Artist Gentle Touch resounds, the basic sound has ist own distinctive character which easily unites contrasts such as lightness and depth. Very quickly and with great ease a struck note develops, and as in an even reverberation, the quality of head note unfolds, giving the instrument breath and color. The bass register is endowed with high contour and long sustaining power, wich stay remarkably stable even beyond fret 12. The middle range notes are finely balanced without any prevailing dominance, rendering both warmth and strength to the sound. The true excellence is audible in the enhanced balance in the brilliance of the high note range, which does not sound harsh or cold, but soars to strong but soft heigths, their glass clear sound a tribute to the instrument's special character and its inherently beautiful light timbre.

These characteristics are very hard to achieve in themselves, particularly when considering that the art of joining precious woods, and endowing the instrument with its own individual and authentic sound,quality is already a major task.

The Artist Gentle Touch posesses such remarkable and characteristic sound features in all ranges, giving the player both encouragement and inspiration.The melody range reflects strength and clarity. Struck chords resound in excellent note quality as well as elegant harmony. Only when struck strongly, will an accompanying sound from adjoining strings be provoked in one or the other playing position, the strings are stretched tightly over the frets in the best possible position, which is why we can easily credit the instrument with an excellent arrangement of the strings.

Let us now take a look at the playing characteristics. They are not only convincing with regards to the easy reach of the fret board and its flat positioning of the strings, but further profit from the two additional features mentioned above. The Mould-Cutaway has blunted side edge bindings to reach the higher frets more easily, and to take the edge off crampy handling in this critical position. On the other side, the small arm rest willl definitely relieve the work of the right arm and improve playing the instrument.


When all aspects are considered, the Artist Gentle Touch combines craft and technical aspects with an elegantly light and highly indiviual sound texture, endowing it with just the "little extra" clearly distinguishing this masterfully built instrument from others.

 

gentle103

Model

Artist Gentle Touch

Scale

65 cm

Soundboard

Alpin Spruce, carved out

Back / Sides

Rosewood, massive

Neck

Cedro, both sides Rosewood

Fretboard

Ebony

Tuning machine

Gotoh

Bridge

Rosewood

Price

to inquire (Hiscox case inclusive)

Summary

In her Artist Gentle Touch, Cornelia Traudt has successfully combined excellent sound characteristis with small, player-friendly details to the classical traditional construction. She has brought forth a remarkable instrument full of personality.

Beyond the praisworthy advantages of well balanced chords, sustained and powerfully acticulated melody sound structures, you will find this guitar to have a highly individual timbre and persuasive charm.

The "French way of Life" has apparently found its way to the core of the guitar builder's creative power. Cornelia Traudt again proves to be a true master of her trade with refreshing ideas and elegant sound creation - "a la bonne heure" .

 

 

return to top of page

 


© Atelier Traudt 2000-2009

Email_Logo_90x8022

Banner_Artist_Gentle_Touch

 

 

 

Aus der Zeitschrift “AKUSTIK GITARRE” Ausgabe 6 / 2003

 

“Meisterlich”

 

   ATELIER TRAUDT - KONZERTGITARRE “ARTIST GENTLE TOUCH” gentle102

 

 Von Franz Holtmann

"Charaktervolles Instrument mit spielfördernden Detaillösungen".

Der Name Cornelia Traudt steht für meisterlichen Gitarrenbau, und die Kreationen der Wahl-Elsässerin fanden daher auch früher schon den Weg in diese Seiten. Mit der feinen Konzertgitarre "Artist Gentle Touch" zeigt sie wieder einmal gitarrenbauerische Fantasie und Finesse im Detail.

Natürlich stehen die gesetzten und bewährten Konstruktionsprinzipien der Konzertgitarre auch für Cornelia Traudt im Mittelpunkt ihres Handwerks.
Schön, dass da auf profundem Boden doch noch Raum für interessante Detaillösungen zu finden ist. Es zeigt auch die Beweglichkeit der Gitarrenbaumeisterin, die allemal geneigt ist, den Wünschen ihrer Kunden weitgehend entgegen zu kommen.
Petersbach klingt übrigens nicht nur deutsch, sondern liegt auch nah der deutschen Grenze in der schönen Landschaft der Nordvogesen, die allein schon einen Besuch rechtfertigen.

 

Konstruktion

Die grundlegende Form der Artist Gentle Touch entspricht, abgesehen von den interessanten Veränderungen zugunsten einer gefälligen Handhabung, der traditionellen Linie des allgemein bekannten und weit verbreiteten Konzertgitarrenbaus.
Der Korpus besteht aus massivem, attraktiv gemasertem Palisander. Der zweigeteilte, leicht gewölbte Boden ist spiegelbildlich über einen dreistreifigen Fugenspan aufgeschlagen, der auch als Randeinlage für das Palisander-Binding Verwendung findet.
Als Deckenholz kam feine Alpenfichte mit leichter Haselstruktur zum Einsatz. Hier nun sind die spielerleichternden Neuerungen, die dem Instrument seinen Namen gaben, nicht zu übersehen. Die Deckenränder weisen zunächst ringsum eine leichte Kehlung auf, die im vorderen unteren Zargenbereich auch das Cutaway in Muldenform umgibt. Was optisch durch den starken Kontrast von der hellen Fichte zum dunklen Palisander zunächst wie ein übliches Cutaway wirkt, erweist sich als ein lediglich in die vordere Zarge/Decke in Form einer Mulde gesetzter Ausschnitt, der dem Korpus fast sein gesamtes Volumen belässt und dazu die sonst hinzunehmende größere Versteifung des Korpus' durch die Zargenbiegung beim herkömmlichen Cutaway vermeidet. Diese Lösung kommt also aus spieltechnischer Sicht der besseren Erreichbarkeit der hohen Lagen entgegen und nimmt der Gitarre dennoch wohl kaum etwas von ihren sonoren Qualitäten. Diagonal gegenüber, in Höhe des aufliegenden rechten Arms, wurde die Schärfe der Zargenkante durch eine ergonomisch integrierte schmale Armauflage effektiv gemindert. Die Sehnen und Muskeln des aufliegenden Unterarms werden beim Spiel dadurch entlastet, daraus resultierende Ermüdungserscheinungen vermieden.

Diese zwei Details sind ebenso praxisgerecht wie gitarrenbauerisch souverän gelöst. Der Hals besteht aus Cedro; der Kopf ist beidseitig mit Palisander belegt. Tiefschwarzes Ebenholz, was sonst, durfte hier zum Griffbrett werden, das zugunsten eines 20. Bundes bis über das Schallloch vorgezogen wurde. Letzteres zeigt sich mit einer geschmackvoll gelegten dunklen Holzrosette geschmückt. Die sauber ausgeführte und polierte Bundierung mag für ein Instrument dieser Kategorie als selbstverständlich gelten, nicht aber die kleinen hilfreichen Dots in Höhe des 5. und 7. Bundes.
Eine weitere kleine spielerfreundliche Einzelheit: Der Steg ist bei der Gitarre ebenfalls von Palisander und mit Perlmutt und Einlegespänen verziert. Als Stegeinlage wie auch als Sattel finden wir Mammut(!?) vor. Der unvermeidliche Blick durch das Schallloch in die überschaubaren Katakomben der Gitarre zeigen saubere Arbeit und fein beschliffene Bebalkung. Ebenso muss die superbe Handpolitur auf reiner Schellackbasis gelobt werden.
Das Instrument wird in einem hochwertigen Hiscox "Pro" Hartschalen-Koffer geliefert.

 

Klang- und Spieleigenschaften

Schon die ersten Akkorde zeigen dem gespitzten Ohr die Kategorie an, in die Mme. Traudt ihre Gitarren mit gutem Recht eingestuft sehen möchte. Mit großer Ausgewogenheit trumpft die Artist Gentle Touch auf; der Grundklang verfügt dazu über einen eigenen, ausgeprägten Charakter, der die scheinbaren Gegensätze Leichtigkeit und Tiefe in sich vereint. Sehr schnell und leichtfüßig entwickelt sich der Ton auf den Anschlag hin, zeigt im gleichmäßigen Schwingungsverlauf dann jene harmonische Obertonentfaltung, die Atem und Farbe geben. Die Bässe sind dabei mit guter Kontur und langem Sustain gesegnet, das sich bemerkenswert stabil auch noch oberhalb des 12. Bundes entwickelt. Die Mitten kommen fein gewichtet und ohne jede Dominanz in Stellung, geben dem Klang dennoch Wärme und tragende Kraft. Exzellent dann die aus gleichende Ergänzung nach oben hin durch brillante und dennoch keineswegs harte, eher kraftvoll weich strahlende Höhen, deren glasiger Schmelz dem Klang Charakter und sein schönes leichtes Timbre verleiht. Die genannten Eigenschaften sind schwer zu erzielen, denn viel ist erreicht, wenn es gelingt, den kunstvoll gefügten Hölzern ein eigenständiges Klanggefüge beizugeben.
Die Artist Gentle Touch jedenfalls verfügt in allen Registern über einen solch bemerkenswerten und charakteristischen Ton, der den Spieler ermutigt, ihn inspiriert. Melodiespiel ist gekennzeichnet von Festigkeit und Klarheit, Akkorde zeigen gute stimmliche Durchsicht und elegante harmonische Ergänzung. Nur bei kräftigem Anschlag lässt sich in der ein oder anderen Position das übliche Nebengeräusch durch ansetzende Saiten provozieren, aber dafür liegen die Saiten auch bestmöglich flach über den Bünden, wir können also von einer vorzüglichen Saitenlage reden.
Schon sind wir bei den Spieleigenschaften angelangt, und die überzeugen nicht nur mit einem leichten Griffbrettzugang durch flach gehaltene Saiten, sondern können dazu mit den zwei oben bereits erwähnten Details glänzen. Das Mulden-Cutaway entschärft die Zargenkante zur besseren Erreichbarkeit der hohen Bünde ganz erfreulich, entkrampft die Handhaltung in diesem heiklen Bereich deutlich. Auf der anderen Seite macht die kleine Armauflage die Arbeit für den rechten Arm tatsächlich etwas leichter, das Spielgefühl wird verbessert.
Zusammen genommen geben die in der Artist - Gentle Touch vereinten praxisgerechten und spielfreundlichen Aspekte in Verbindung mit einer elegant leichten und eigenständigen Klangtextur der Gitarre jenes Mehr, das nur meisterlich gefertigte Instrumente auszeichnet.
 

Technische Daten

gentle103

Modell

Artist Gentle Touch

Mensur

65 cm

Decke

Alpenfichte mit eingearbeiteter Hohlkehle, massiv

Boden/Zargen

Palisander massiv

Hals

Cedro, beidseitig mit Palisander belegt

Griffbrett

Ebenholz, verlängert

Mechanik

Gotoh

Steg

Palisander

Preis

auf Anfrage (Hiscox Koffer inclus)

Fazit

Cornelia Traudt verbindet in ihrer Artist Gentle Touch exzellente Klangeigenschaften mit kleinen spielfördernden Detaillösungen in der ansonsten auf seriös traditionellem Grund gebauten Konstruktion zu einem bemerkenswert charaktervollen Instrument.

Über die löblich zu erwähnenden Vorzüge eines im Akkord ausgeglichenen und in der Melodie fest und kraftvoll artikulierenden Klanggefüges ist jedoch das eigenständige Timbre und der durchaus charmante Ton hinauszuheben.
 

Die französische Lebensart scheint so auf das schönste Eingang gefunden zu haben in die Schaffenskraft der Gitarrenbaumeisterin. Cornelia Traudt jedenfalls empfiehlt sich mit erfrischenden Ideen und eleganter Klangschöpfung erneut als Meisterin ihres Fachs - à la bonne heure!

 

 

zurück zum Anfang der Seite

 


© Atelier Traudt 2000-2009